TAQA Qualifications

Training, Assessment and Quality Assurance (TAQA)

If you’re working within a quality assurance role within the substance misuse sector, you should have a nationally recognised qualification.

These qualifications are open to people carrying out assessments and quality assurance in most learning environments, including FE, Adult Continuing Learning, Employers and Third Sector.

They are designed for anyone assessing and carrying out quality assurance in all occupational sectors, or accredited learning, non-accredited learning and qualifications on the National Qualification Framework (NQF).

TAQA L3 – Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment

This is for practitioners who assess the demonstration of competence in a work environment using the following assessment methods:

  • Observation
  • Examining work products
  • Oral questioning and discussion
  • Use of others (such as witnesses)
  • Learner statements
  • Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

It’s a two unit award, and it contains a knowledge based unit and a competence based unit. This will be assessed in the workplace, and will require you to have your own candidates to assess.

Your own candidates do not have to be registered for a qualification, but you’ll need to be in a position to assess the competence of others in a work environment.

Qualification cost: £1300

TAQA L4 – Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

The Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice is for practitioners who conduct internal quality assurance of the assessment process from within a centre/organisation, by sample planning, monitoring and advising on the practice of assessors.

You don’t need to be currently be carrying out internal quality assurance to take this Qualification.

Qualification cost: £1600

You may be interested in